discussion forum

Share your views on any matter of interest or concern relating to HE Music by visiting our discussion forum.

contact details

Alison Marlow,
NAMHE Administrator,
42 Constance Road,
Tel: 01905 455125

imr travel grants

Download the form to apply for an IMR Travel Grant.

last event details

View details and download summary documents of our previous events by visiting our past conferences section.


(as approved at 1998 Conference and revised at 1999, 2005, 2013 and 2014 Conferences)

1. Nature and Purpose

  • NAMHE is the subject association for all engaged in Music in Higher Education in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
  • The purpose of the Association is to identify, articulate and promote the interests and needs of Music in Higher Education and of those engaged in it.
  • In fulfilment of its purpose the Association will:
    • gather, collate and disseminate information on music in Higher Education and on those engaged in it;
    • liaise with related professional associations, learned societies and other organisations concerned with Music and/or Higher Education as appropriate;
    • present the interests and needs of Music in Higher Education and of those engaged in it, to other bodies (e.g. the Higher Education Funding Councils) as appropriate;
    • disseminate relevant information of interest to the membership via the web site, email circulation list of institutional contacts and the NAMHE JISCMail list;
    • organise a whole-day general meeting once a year on a topic of concern to its members.

2. Membership and Subscription

  • Membership of NAMHE is open to all institutions offering degree programmes in Music or courses that contribute to such programmes. It is open to: whole institutions (e.g. conservatoires); to appropriate faculties, departments or other units in universities or colleges; to individuals working in Music in non-Music departments and in Music departments that are not members of NAMHE.
  • Membership is dependent on the payment of an annual subscription. The level of the subscription, which may vary according to the size of the member department, is set by the Committee of the Association, reviewed annually and reported to the Annual General Meeting of the Association. The subscription becomes payable on 1 October each year.

3. Organisation

  • The business of the Association is conducted by a Committee of twelve people elected by and from the members of the Association. Elections to the Committee will take place annually between September and December.
  • Membership of the Committee is for a period of three years.
  • A member of the Committee approaching the end of his/her period of service may stand for immediate re-election but after two consecutive periods of three years must retire for at least one year. Members whose Committee service includes a period or periods as a co-opted member must, normally, retire for at least one year after six years' continuous service.
  • If, following the Annual Election, the Committee as a whole has no representative from any one of the geographical regions of the UK with its own Funding Council (i.e. England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales), then there will be an automatic co-option of a representative working in that region. In the event of no candidate from such a region having been nominated, Chairman's action will be taken.
  • The Committee may co-opt additional members if it needs to do so in order to fulfil the purpose of the Association or represent the profession as a whole. All co-options (including automatic co-options) are for a period of one year only.
  • A student representative will be elected onto the Committee, in addition to the twelve academic staff members, by student delegates at the Annual Conference. The student will represent the interests of the student body, both undergraduate and postgraduate, on the Committee.
  • The Committee normally meets three times a year, but the number of meetings may be increased or reduced in accordance with the volume of business in hand.
  • Each member of the Association is responsible for: nominating a Correspondent (or Representative) to act as a means of communication between member and Committee; giving the Administrator the Correspondent's name and contact details; notifying the Administrator of any change of Correspondent or related detail.
  • The quorum for Committee meetings is seven members to include either the Chair or Vice Chair; a meeting will not be quorate unless the Chair or Vice Chair is present. In the event that the Chair and Vice Chair are unavailable at short notice, a Chair will be chosen for the meeting by those present and any decisions taken will be ratified at the following meeting.

4. Role of the Chair and Procedure for the Election of Chair

  • The Chair of the NAMHE Committee has responsibility for the business of the committee, including management of meetings, staffing, external relations and the co-ordination of the annual conference. S/he may also lead one of the NAMHE portfolios. The chair has the power to delegate any of these functions.
  • The Chair will normally serve a term of three years, beginning at the Annual General Meeting of the Association. The Chair is elected by the Committee according to the following procedure:
    • Nominations should be made to the Administrator prior to the January meeting and may be made by any elected member of the Committee; seconding is not required. Self-nominations are allowed.
    • Should there be more than one nomination, an election will be held at the January meeting. Candidates will be asked to provide a short written statement in advance outlining their plans and ambitions for the Association. The Administrator will then hold a secret ballot. All members of the Committee, including the outgoing Chair and any co-opted members, may cast a single vote each. In the event of a tie, the outgoing Chair has the casting vote.
    • The outcome of any vote will be notified, in order, to the candidates, to the Committee and then to the membership via email and the web site.
    • The outgoing Chair will formally hand over to the incoming Chair at the beginning of the AGM in the May following the election. The outgoing Chair will then continue his/her elected term on the Committee until it expires in the normal way.
    • In the event that the new Chair's term of service on the Committee finishes during his/her time as Chair, s/he may be co-opted to the Committee until the following AGM to allow the election of a new Chair to take place.
  • The Committee will elect a Vice Chair to support the work of the Chair. The Vice Chair election will be conducted in the same way as the Chair election. The Vice Chair may, but need not, go on to become Chair in due course. The term of service for Vice Chair is normally one year. The Vice Chair may be re-elected, but will not normally serve more than three consecutive years.